Welcome, Stranger, To My Blog!

Welcome, Stranger!

… Unless, of course, you aren’t strange, then you’re just a visitor. Then again, we’re all strange. Humans are strange.

It’s a fact of life.

Okay. I can already tell that my first post is going to be rambly and quirky and hyper. Probably because I’m rambly and quirky and hyper. You’ll get used it eventually.

Until then, enjoy it! I know I do!

Mostly.

Speaking of random, I have a bruise on my ankle. I’ve had it for days… and I’m not sure where it came from. How very curious.

Now, I think I sh0uld introduce myself. You know, before I scare you all off. Which would be bad.

So~ here goes:

Who am I?

This is a very complex question. In truth, I’m not entirely sure. Then again, is anyone? We humans, as a species, are constantly changing: physically and mentally, consciously and subconsciously. Our outlooks transform and evolve as we acquire new experiences.

So, in short: I’m not sure who I am, I’m not even sure who I was or who I will be in the future.

But there is one thing that I’m sure of: with each passing day, I’m getting closer and closer to unlocking my identity.

And when that day comes, I’ll welcome it with open arms.

… You weren’t expecting that philosophical bit, were you?

As stated previously, you’ll get used to it.

Eventually.

Though, since I know that you didn’t visit/get sidetracked on this blog just the read the whimsical philosophical musings of a rather strange teenage girl, I will supply you with more information about myself (for future references).

And, mind you, this will be in list form (because lists are so much easier to write than full paragraphs, and I’m very lazy)~

-I’m a home-schooled high school student that is currently in the eleventh grade. I could’ve graduated early if I wanted to, but I wanted time to prepare for college. I also wanted to learn more. (Because learning is the most amazing thing ever.)

-I’m a gymnast, and I have the flexibility to prove it. And I’m on of those girls that can land a cartwheel on a balance beam, look oh so VERY graceful as I finish, and then fall off of the stage as I exit. Yep. I’m just that idiosyncratic. Then again, I never was particularly graceful to begin with. Gymnastics just makes me seem that way at times. I never seemed graceful until gymnastics, really.

-I’m a writer. I’m not a prolific writer, but I do try. My innate perfectionism seems to be a roadblock at the best of times, not to mention the worst. But I’ve learned to live with it, to an extent.

-I’m an active watch-er of anime, and I can prove it. In Japanese.

-I’m rather socially awkward a majority of the time. It may not show up online, but it is there, nonetheless. The internet is the only way I can express myself in a way I approve of, really.

-I’m fairly sure that I am partially Asexual. The very idea of intercourse disturbs me to no end. (Too much information? Probably. Do I care? Not at the moment. I probably will later, though.)

-I skipped the fifth grade. Technically.

-My mom is very, very important to me. She is, and will always be, my best friend. Even though we don’t get along like we used to.

-My little brother is the most amazing being in the universe. At this point in time, he is twenty months old.

-At five feet, two inches height-wise, I am surrounded by giants.

-I am something of a gypsy. I have been all over the US and in parts of Europe throughout my childhood, and I fully intend to see more of the world some day.

-I am multiracial.

-I’m practically nocturnal, though I DO try to maintain a socially acceptable sleeping schedule. I just suck at it.

-I am an avid reader, even though I haven’t been reading quite as much as I used to.

-I have a very Bohemian style of clothing, and my favorite articles of apparel would be my Guatemalan hippie pants, and big, baggy tie-dyed T-shirts. I have worn my favorite shoes to shreds, sadly, and I must sew them soon. And don’t forget my feather earrings! c: I love those.

-I am left-handed, and my handwriting leaves much to be desired. I usually prefer to type, as handwriting slows me down exponentially.

-I walk the fine line between genius and insanity on a regular basis. However, I think I lean much farther towards insanity, because my opinion (and many other people’s opinions, I’m sure) I’m nuttier than peanut butter. And that’s saying something.

-I may or may not have Aspergers Syndrome, an Autism Spectrum Disorder. I have not been officially diagnosed, but I show many of the symptoms, and my mom believes I have it. (This will probably be mentioned quite a bit, as it’s relatively new to me.)

^This is me. If you like me, that’s fine. If you don’t, that’s fine, too. (I’m trying to work on my hypersensitivity… :P. Being disliked hurts, but it’s a fact of life, so I have to become accustomed to it!)

… I guess that’s all I really have to say for now about myself. For now, at least.

So, yeah. Nice to ‘meet’ you all! Welcome, welcome, to my blog!

8 thoughts on “Welcome, Stranger, To My Blog!

  1. I loved reading this! Your natural talent as a writer shows in this blog post and I got to learn more about you! Hooray!

  2. Hi Star Raven, if i haven’t introduced myself, i will start here. My name is maya and i am glad that you joined Everyday Aspergers, and hope that you enjoy being around a group of awesome people. On another note, i like your blog, very raw and authentic. Getting a good nights sleep has been rare (by choice) and the somewhat nocturnal scene does kick in more because there is always things i want to research or read about. I can also relate with wearing one pair of shoes for a long period of time until they get worn out (including a recent pair of sandals ive had since high school). Also, that’s really cool that you do gymnastics. When did you start? On another note, it is great to hear inspiring words from others exploring their own purpose in life. How is being home-schooled for you?
    Again, it’s great to meet you.
    Hugs
    ~Maya

    • Hello! 😀 And yes, I LOVE the group. Everyone there is so amazing, and it’s nice to know that I’m not alone in my quirkiness. c:

      And thank you, I really enjoyed writing it. It felt good, and it really kickstarted my writing inspiration!

      I’ve tried to sleep at a decent hour, and the closest I’ve gotten to sleep is at around one AM. xD It usually takes longer, though. The interwebs are always luring me back into their information-filled domain as well. Also, I just feel more comfortable at night, more at peace. Everyone is asleep, and I finally get my alone time, my space. To me, it’s almost worth sleeping in for. Another thing is that I feel more energized at night, more creative. I soak up information better, and I think at a deeper level. It’s quite strange, really.

      c: Ah, the shoe dilemma. It always seems as though I have ONE pair of shoes that I prefer. Sometimes there are more, like now. All of them are moccasins and flats and other such comfy things. I hate shoes, so the closer I can get to going barefoot, the better! I used to have a pair of mock Converse that I liked, as well. But I outgrew those. 😦 I’m so happy my feet are done growing now! 😀 And I once had a pair of sandals that I loved. I still have them, actually, but the sequins are all torn off and they are in a very sorry state! The soles especially.

      Oh, gymnastics is like breathing for me. I need it in order to properly function. And I started in the middle of the eighth grade, right after my thirteenth birthday! That’s nearly three years ago, now. But I had to take a year off for a broken arm. 😦 I just started back! 😀

      And thank you. c: I’ve been rather obsessed with finding my identity as of late, as I really know nothing about myself. I’m hoping that writing this blog will help me discover that.

      Being home-schooled is wonderful. I get to work at my own pace, choose my subjects, and learn them in nearly any way that I desire! It’s very enjoyable. 🙂

      It’s great to meet you, too! c:

      -The Raven

      P. S. … I wrote a lot just now. xD Apparently, I’m on a roll of sorts!

Leave a Reply

